• οΏ½οΏ½οΏ½οΏ½οΏ½οΏ½οΏ½οΏ½
  • English


Andreas Tsiartas

Andreas Tsiartas

Andreas Tsiartas was born in Limassol in 1986. At a very young age, he received a soloist education in piano by Dr. Nefen Michaelides and composition and orchestration lessons by Maciej Zoltowsky. In 2004 he was awarded a Diploma ABRSM (Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music) in Piano Performing.  In 2010, Tsiartas graduated with distinction (Diplom Komponist) from the Hochschule für Musik ‘Carl Maria von Weber’ in Dresden, Germany, where he studied composition with Manos Tsangaris and Jörg Herchet and electronic music with Franz Martin Olbrisch and Michael Flade. In December 2010, he was accepted by the same institute to pursue a PhD in Musicology/ Ethnomusicology, specialised in the diptych ‘Sound and Rite’, under the supervision of Prof. Jörn Peter Hiekel.

Tsiartas' works have been performed in Cyprus, Germany and the UK by various ensembles and orchestras such as Camerata Polyzoides, Dresdner Philharmonie‚ Studio for New Music Ensemble Moscow, and they received their premieres in renowned venues such as the BKA Theater in Berlin and the ZKM in Karlsruhe. Andreas Tsiartas has actively participated in a number of composition master-classes, amongst others, with Brian Ferneyhough (Dresden 2007) and Beat Furrer (Rostock 2009). He has also visited the Donaueschinger Musiktage (2007, 2009) and the Internationalen Ferienkurse für Neue Musik in Darmstadt (2010), where he attended the composition classes of Rebecca Saunders, Liza Lim and Georges Aperghis. 
 As part of the official programme of the same Festival, the first part of his scenic piece Pareidolia was premiered. Andreas Tsiartas currently lives and works in Germany. For more information: www.andreastsiartas.com


General Details

Personal Details

First Name: Andreas
Year of Birth: 1986
Last Name: Tsiartas

Cyprus Music Information Centre (CyMIC)

25-27, Othellou Str., Famagusta Gate, 1016, Nicosia, Cyprus
T: +357 22 466003, +357 22 809804 | F: +357 22 346124 | E: info@cymic.org.cy

© Copyright 2009 - 2021 - Cyprus Music Information Centre